FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  

Who We Are


The Committee for Religious Liberty of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops seeks to strengthen and sustain religious freedom by assisting the U.S. bishops, individually and collectively, to teach about religious freedom to the faithful and the broader public, and to promote and defend religious freedom in law and policy.

To this end we:

  • Collaborate with other USCCB committees on religious liberty issues
  • Develop educational materials
  • Sponsor the annual Fortnight for Freedom (June 21 to July 4)
  • Provide materials for the Solemnity of Christ the King
  • Circulate fact sheets and other information on critical issues
  • Publish Free to Serve newsletter
  • Provide dioceses with religious liberty liturgical resources
  • Coordinate/advise on public policy efforts concerning these issues

Commitee Members

Most Reverend Joseph E. Kurtz, Chairman
Archbishop of Louisville.

Most Reverend Timothy P. Broglio
Archbishop for the Military Services, USA

Most Reverend Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M. Cap.
Archbishop of Philadelphia

Most Reverend Joseph F. Naumann
Archbishop of Kansas City, KS

Most Reverend Michael F. Burbidge
Bishop of Arlington

Most Reverend Frank J. Dewane
Bishop of Venice

Most Reverend Kevin C. Rhoades
Bishop of Fort Wayne-South Bend

Most Reverend Joe S. Vásquez
Bishop of Austin

Most Reverend Robert Barron
Auxiliary Bishop of Los Angeles

Bishop Consultants

Most Reverend William E. Lori
Archbishop of Baltimore

Most Reverend Joseph C. Bambera
Bishop of Scranton

Most Reverend James D. Conley
Bishop of Lincoln

Most Reverend Robert P. Deeley
Bishop of Portland

Most Reverend John M. Quinn
Bishop of Winona

Most Reverend Nelson J. Pérez

Bishop of Cleveland

Lay Consultants

Jason Adkins, Esq.
Executive Director, Minnesota Catholic Conference

Montse Alvarado
Executive Director, Becket Law

Carl A. Anderson
Supreme Knight, Knights of Columbus

Kevin Baine, Esq.
Co-Chair, First Amendment Practice Group, Williams & Connolly LLP

Kim Daniels

Member, Vatican Secretariat for Communication

Ambassador Mary Ann Glendon
Learned Hand Professor of Law, Harvard University

Patrick Kelly
Deputy Supreme Knight, Knights of Columbus

L. Martin Nussbaum, Esq.
Partner, Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie LLP

Gloria Purvis
Host, EWTN Morning Glory radio show

Jason Shanks
President, Our Sunday Visitor Institute


Anthony Picarello, Esq.
General Counsel & Associate General Secretary

Jonathan Reyes, Ph.D.
Assistant General Secretary for Integral Human Development

Hillary Byrnes, Esq.
Assistant General Counsel & Lead Staff to the Committee for Religious Liberty

Lauren McCormack
Associate Director, Office of Government Relations

Aaron Matthew Weldon, Ph.D.

Religious Liberty Program Specialist

Tyler Lomnitzer
Executive Assistant, Office of the General Counsel

Return to Religious Liberty Home

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue