FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  

CNS & MPAA Movie Classifications

CNS (Catholic New Service) classifications:
  • A-I — general patronage
  • A-II — adults and adolescents
  • A-III — adults
  • A-IV — adults, with reservations (this indicates films that, while not morally offensive in themselves, are not for casual viewing because they require some analysis and explanation in order to avoid false impressions and interpretations)
  • L — limited adult audiences, films whose problematic content many adults would find troubling (replaced A-IV classification Nov. 1, 2003)
  • O — morally offensive
Motion Picture Association of America ratings:
  • G — general audiences, all ages admitted
  • PG — parental guidance suggested, some material may not be suitable for children
  • PG-13 — parents are strongly cautioned. Some material may be inappropriate for children under 13
  • R — restricted, under 17 requires accompanying parent or adult guardian
  • NC-17 — no one 17 and under admitted (age limit may vary in certain areas)
  • NR — not rated; generally films released prior to the establishment of the MPAA ratings system.

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue