FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  

U.S. Bishops Vote for New Conference Treasurer, USCCB Committee Chairmen, CRS Board Members

November 17, 2015

 BALTIMORE—The U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) chose a new treasurer-elect of the Conference and the chairmen-elect of six committees and new members of the board of Catholic Relief Services (CRS), during the bishops' annual fall General Assembly, November 16-19, in Baltimore.

The bishops elected:

″   Archbishop Dennis M. Schnurr of Cincinnati USCCB treasurer-elect in a 126-110 vote over Bishop John M. LeVoir of New Ulm, Minnesota

″   Bishop George V. Murry, SJ, of Youngstown, Ohio chairman-elect of the Committee on Catholic Education in a 132-106 vote over Archbishop Robert J. Carlson of St. Louis Archbishop

″   Archbishop Joseph W. Tobin, CSsR, of Indianapolis, chairman-elect of the Committee on Clergy, Consecrated Life and Vocations in a 144-96 vote over Archbishop Samuel J. Aquila of Denver

″   Archbishop Wilton D. Gregory of Atlanta, chairman-elect of the Committee on Divine Worship in a 124-114 vote over Bishop John O. Barres of Allentown, Pennsylvania

″   Bishop Frank J. Dewane of Venice, Florida, chairman-elect of the Committee on Domestic Justice and Human Development in a 128-111 vote over Bishop Robert W. McElroy of San Diego

″   Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, OFM Cap., of Philadelphia, chairman-elect of the Committee on Laity, Marriage, Family Life and Youth in a 141-98 vote over Bishop Frank J. Caggiano of Bridgeport, Connecticut

″   Archbishop José H. Gomez of Los Angeles, chairman-elect of the Committee on Migration in a 140-58-21 vote over Archbishop John C. Wester of Santa Fe, New Mexico and Bishop Anthony B. Taylor of Little Rock

Each bishop elected will serve for one year as secretary-elect or chairman-elect before beginning a three-year term.

Bishops elected to the CRS board were Bishop James V. Johnston of Kansas City-St. Joseph, Bishop Gregory J. Mansour of the Eparchy of Saint Maron of Brooklyn, Bishop Arthur J. Serratellli of Paterson, and Bishop Joe S. Vasquez of Austin.
Keywords: U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, USCCB, U.S. bishops, November meeting, Baltimore, Fall General Assembly, committee chairmen, treasurer, Catholic Education, Clergy, Consecrated Life and Vocations, Divine Worship, Domestic Justice and Human Development, Laity, Marriage, Family Life and Youth, Migration, CRS, Catholic Relief Services
# # #
Don Clemmer
O: 202-541-3206

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue