FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  

Committee for the Protection of Children and Young People


Article 8 of the Charter for the Protection of Children and Young People states,

By the authority of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, the mandate of the Ad Hoc Committee on Sexual Abuse is renewed, and it is now constituted the Committee for the Protection of Children and Young People. It becomes a standing committee of the Conference. Its membership is to include representation from all the episcopal regions of the country, with new appointments staggered to maintain continuity in the effort to protect children and youth.

The Committee is to advise the USCCB on all matters related to child and youth protection and is to oversee the development of the plans, programs, and budget of the Secretariat of Child and Youth Protection. It is to provide the USCCB with comprehensive planning and recommendations concerning child and youth protection by coordinating the efforts of the Office and the National Review Board.

Membership of the Bishops' Committee on the Protection of Children and Young People (CPCYP) includes the following bishops as well as the region they represent:

Most Reverend Edward J. Burns
Bishop of Dallas

Region VIII
Most Reverend Donald J. Kettler
Bishop of St. Cloud

Region I
Most Reverend Peter J. Uglietto
Auxiliary Bishop of Boston

Region IX
Most Reverend Carl A. Kemme
Bishop of Wichita

Region II
Most Reverend Terry R. LaValley
Bishop of Ogdensburg 

Region X
Most Reverend Patrick J. Zurek
Bishop of Amarillo

Region III
Most Reverend David A. Zubik
Bishop of Pittsburgh

Region XI
Most Reverend Joseph V. Brennan
Auxiliary Bishop of Los Angeles

Region IV
Most Reverend Barry C. Knestout
Auxiliary Bishop of Washington

Region XII
Most Reverend Liam Cary
Bishop of Baker

Region V
Most Reverend Joseph R. Kopacz
Bishop of Jackson

Region XIII
Most Reverend Jorge H. Rodriguez-Novelo
Auxiliary Bishop of Denver

Region VI
Most Reverend Steven J. Raica
Bishop of Gaylord

Region XIV
Most Reverend Peter Baldacchino
Auxiliary Bishop of Miami

Region VII
Most Reverend Edward K. Braxton
Bishop of Belleville

Region XV
Most Reverend Jacob Angadiath
Bishop of St. Thomas Syro-Malabar Diocese of Chicago 

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue