Print | Share | Calendar | Diocesan Locator
|   No Spanish version at this time
FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  

Who We Are

Committee on International Justice & Peace

The committee assists the bishops, both collectively and individually, in advancing the social mission of the Church on international justice and peace through policy development, advocacy, education, outreach, and acts of ecclesial solidarity. The committee advises the bishops on international public policy issues, especially integral human development, human rights, religious freedom, and peace.

This mandate includes the following areas of responsibility: International policy, advocacy, justice and peace concerns, solidarity with the Church in other countries, outreach to dioceses on international issues, and international dimensions of Catholic social teaching education.

Committee Members

Most Reverend Richard E. Pates
Chairman, Bishop of Des Moines

Most Reverend Oscar Cantú
Chairman-Elect, Bishop of Las Cruces

Cardinal Theodore McCarrick
Archbishop Emeritus of Washington

Most Reverend Frank J. Dewane
Bishop of Venice

Most Reverend William J. Dendinger
Bishop of Grand Island

Most Reverend Howard J. Hubbard
Bishop of Albany

Most Reverend William F. Murphy
Bishop of Rockville Centre

Most Reverend Ricardo Ramírez, CSB
Bishop Emeritus of Las Cruces

Most Reverend Thomas G. Wenski
Archbishop of Miami
Chairman, Committee on Domestic Justice and Human Development

Bishop Consultant

Most Reverend Timothy P. Broglio
Archbishop of Military Services

Most Reverend Paul S. Coakley
Archbishop of Oklahoma City
President, Board of Catholic Relief Services

Most Reverend Denis J. Madden
Auxiliary Bishop of Baltimore
Chairman, Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs

Most Reverend Eusebio L. Elizondo, MSpS
Auxiliary Bishop of Seattle
Chairman, Committee on Migration

Most Reverend John H. Ricard, SSJ
Bishop Emeritus of Pensacola-Tallahassee

Lay Consultants

Major Gen. William F. Burns
Major General US Army (ret.)

Dr. Maryann Cusimano Love
Department of Politics, The Catholic University of America

Rev. Dennis J. Dease
President, University of St. Thomas

Ambassador Mary Ann Glendon
Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

Dr. John Steinbruner
Director, Center for International and Security Studies, University of Maryland

Organizational Consultants

Mr. Patrick O'Bryan
Chair, The Roundtable Association of Diocesan Social Action Directors

Sr. Janet Mock, C.S.J.
Interim Executive Director, Leadership Conference of Women Religious

Dr. Carolyn Y. Woo
President and C.E.O., Catholic Relief Services

Reverend John A. Pavlik, O.F.M. Cap.
Executive Director, Conference of Major Superiors of Men

Mr. Edward "Ned" Dolejsi
Executive Director, California Catholic Conference

Mother Regina Marie Gorman, O.C.D.
Chairperson, Council of Major Superiors of Women Religious

Reverend Msgr. John E. Kozar
President, Catholic Near East Welfare Association

Ambassador Johnny Young
Executive Director, Migration and Refugee Services



Stephen Colecchi, Director, Office of International Justice and Peace

Richard Coll, International Policy Advisor

Virginia Farris
, International Policy Advisor

Stephen Hilbert, International Policy Advisor

Elizabeth Dietz, Staff Assistant


Committee Mandate and Goals

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue