Print | Share | Calendar | Diocesan Locator
|   No Spanish version at this time
FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  

Who We Are


Committee on Domestic Justice and Human Development

The committee assists the bishops, both collectively and individually, in advancing the social mission of the Church, within a culturally diverse community, through education, poverty awareness, capacity- and constituency-building, outreach, policy development, advocacy, and the organization of low-income communities. The committee advises the bishops on issues of human dignity, development, and poverty.

This mandate includes the following areas of responsibility: Domestic policy and advocacy, Catholic social teaching education outreach to dioceses and Catholic social mission organizations, and the Church's domestic anti-poverty effort, the Catholic Campaign for Human Development—including the Campaign's grant making, poverty awareness initiatives, and resource development activities.

Committee on Domestic Justice and Human Development: Mandate and Goals

Committee Members

Most Reverend Thomas G. Wenski
Archbishop of Miami

Most Reverend Stephen E. Blaire
Bishop of Stockton

Most Reverend Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M. Cap.
Archbishop of Philadelphia

Most Reverend Frank J. Dewane

Bishop of Venice

Most Reverend Nicholas DiMarzio
Bishop of Brooklyn

Most Reverend Robert W. McElroy
Bishop of San Diego

Most Reverend Jaime Soto
Bishop of Sacramento

Most Reverend Dennis J. Sullivan
Bishop of Camden


Mr. Ray Boshara
Senior Advisor
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis  

Mr. John H. Garvey, Esq.
The Catholic University of America

Dr. Michael J. Naughton
Moss Chair in Catholic Social Thought
Director, John A. Ryan Institute for Catholic Social Thought, University of St. Thomas

Dr. W. Bradford Wilcox
Director, National Marriage Project
Director, Graduate Studies, Sociology Department and Associate Professor of Sociology, University of Virginia 

Dr. Joseph P. Kaboski
David F. and Erin F. Seng Foundation Professor of Economics
University of Notre Dame


Mr. James Ennis
Executive Director
National Catholic Rural Life Conference 

Sr. Carol Keehan, D.C.
The Catholic Health Association of the United States   

Ms. Jennifer Kraska
Executive Director
Colorado Catholic Conference

Sr. Joan Marie Steadman, C.S.C.
Executive Director
Leadership Conference of Women Religious

Reverend John A. Pavlik, O.F.M. Cap.
Executive Director
Conference of Major Superiors of Men    

Sr. Donna Markham, O.P., Ph.D.
Catholic Charities USA

Sr Marie Bernadette Thompson, O.P.
Council Coordinator
Council of Major Superior of Women Religious


Mark Rohlena
Family Stability and Poverty, Food/Nutrition/Agriculture, Civil Rights/Race, Native American Concerns

Meghan Goodwin
Policy Advisor
Economy/Trade, Housing, Border Issues, Healthcare/Mental Health, Social Services in Educational Settings

Michael O'Rourke
Policy Advisor
Criminal/Restorative Justice, Death Penalty, Labor/Work, Welfare Programs, Human Trafficking, Gun Violence

Elizabeth Dietz
DSD Staff Assistant

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue