Committee on Catholic Education

The Committee provides guidance for the educational mission of the Church in the United States in all its institutional settings. The Committee on Catholic Education guides, directs, and coordinates this task, working closely with the Committee on Evangelization and Catechesis. The scope of the committee’s work includes Catholic elementary and secondary schools, Catholic colleges and universities, and college campus ministry. The committee advocates for federal public policies in education that are consistent with Catholic values and that uphold parental rights and responsibilities regarding education.


Most Reverend Thomas Daly

Diocese of Spokane


Bishop Clarence (Larry) Silva

Diocese of Honolulu

Bishop William M. Joensen

Diocese of Des Moines

Bishop Michael F. Olson

Diocese of Fort Worth

Bishop Edmund J. Whalen

Bishop Gerald Kicanas

Bishop James Massa

Bishop Donald Hying


Archdiocese of New York

Bishop Emeritus of Tucson

Diocese of Brooklyn

Diocese of Madison



Thomas Carroll

Archdiocese of Boston

Nicole Garnett, Esq.
Sr. Mary Agnes Greiffendorf, O.P.
Rev. Dennis Holtschneider, CM
Ms. Kathryn K. Page
Mr. Shawn Peterson
Mr. Lincoln Snyder
Mr. John Zimmer

University of Notre Dame
The Catholic University of America
Catholic Education Partners
National Catholic Educational Association 


Ms. Mary Pat Donoghue

Executive Director, Secretariat of Catholic Education

Ms. Jennifer Daniels

Associate Director for Public Policy, Secretariat of Catholic Education

Dr. Marc J. DelMonico

Assistant Director for Certification of Ecclesial Ministry and Service, Secretariat of Catholic Education

Ms. Barbara Humphrey McCrabb

Assistant Director for Higher Education, Secretariat of Catholic Education