About the Subcommittee and Secretariat

The Subcommittee on Divine Worship in Spanish, a permanent subcommittee of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops' Committee on Divine Worship, selects texts from Spanish-speaking countries that can serve as base texts for Spanish ritual texts for use in the United States; make recommendations on the publication of the liturgical texts necessary for the Hispanic/Latino communities of this country; and facilitates liturgical catechesis in Spanish through the use of informative resources.

The Secretariat of Divine Worship carries out the work of the Committee and the Subcommittee.

Subcommittee on Divine Worship in Spanish

Most Rev. Mario A. Avilés, CO
Auxiliary Bishop of Brownsville
Subcommittee Chairman

Most Rev. Daniel E. Garcia
Bishop of Monterey

Most Rev. Jorge H. Rodríguez
Auxiliary Bishop of Denver

Most Rev. Juan M. Betancourt, SEMV
Auxiliary Bishop of Hartford

Most Rev. Luis M. Romero, M.Id
Auxiliary Bishop of Rockville Centre

Most Rev. Ramón Bejarano
Auxiliary Bishop of San Diego


Rev. Heliodoro Lucatero
Pastor, Saint Joan of Arc Church, San Antonio, TX

Rev. Juan J. Sosa
President, Instituto Nacional Hispano de Liturgia

Ximena DeBroeck
Director of Pastoral Formation, Mount St. Mary's Seminary (Emmitsburg, MD)

Luis Espinoza
Director of Evangelization and Catechesis, Diocese of Brownsville

Secretariat of Divine Worship

Rev. Dustin P. Dought
Executive Director

Matthew M. Godbey
Administrative Assistant

David K. Ringwald
Administrative Assistant