Bishops Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs

The Bishops Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs consists of eighteen bishops who specialize in relations between Christians and interreligious groups. The committee, currently headed by Bishop Joseph C. Bambera of Scranton, is reestablished every three years.

Bishop Joseph C Bambera


Most Reverend Joseph C. Bambera
Bishop of Scranton


Most Rev. David P. Talley, Past Chairman
Bishop of Memphis

Most Rev. John Michael Botean
Eparchy of St. George of Canton

Most Rev. Bohdan Danylo
Ukrainian Catholic Eparchy of St. Josaphat in Parma

Most Rev. Denis J. Madden
Auxiliary Bishop of Baltimore

Most Rev. James Massa
Auxiliary Bishop of Brooklyn

Most Rev. Jeffrey M. Monforton
Auxiliary Bishop of Detroit

Most Rev. Mitchell T. Rozanski
Archbishop of St. Louis

Most Rev. Alfred A. Schlert
Bishop of Allentown

Most Rev. Peter L. Smith
Auxiliary Bishop of Portland, OR


Most Rev. David D. Kagan
Bishop of Bismarck

H.E. Joseph Cardinal Tobin, CSsr
Archbishop of Newark

H.E. Blase Cardinal Cupich
Archbishop of Chicago

H.E. Timothy Cardinal Dolan
Archbishop of New York

H.E. Wilton Cardinal Gregory
Archbishop of Washington, D.C.

Most Rev. Steven J. Lopes
Bishop of the Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter

Most Rev. Thomas J. Olmsted
Bishop of Phoenix

H.E. Sean Cardinal O'Malley
Archbishop of Boston

Most Rev. Edward B. Scharfenberger
Bishop of Albany

Most Rev. Richard J. Sklba
Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of Milwaukee


Secretariat of Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs

The Secretariat of Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs exists to carry out the ongoing programs and plans of the bishops' committee. It consists of four full-time staff members, aided by part-time consultants.

Rev. Walter F. Kedjierski, Ph.D.
Executive Director

Anthony Cirelli, Ph.D.
Associate Director

Ms. Rebecca Cohen, S.T.L.
Program and Research Specialist

Ms. Tiffany Mason
Staff Assistant

Rev. Dr. Ronald G. Roberson, CSP

Rev. Dennis McManus

Contact Us
3211 Fourth St. NE
Washington D.C. 20017