Cardinal DiNardo Elected USCCB President of U.S. Bishops, Archbishop Gomez Elected Vice President.

November 15, 2016 By Public Affairs Office

BALTIMORE—Cardinal Daniel N. DiNardo ofGalveston-Houston, was elected president of the U.S. Conference of CatholicBishops (USCCB) during today's annual fall General Assembly in Baltimore. CardinalDiNardo has served as vice president of the USCCB since 2013. Archbishop JoseGomez was elected as USCCB vice president.

Cardinal DiNardo and Archbishop Gomez are electedto three-year terms and succeed Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz of Louisville,Kentucky, and Cardinal DiNardo, respectively. The new president and vicepresident terms begin at the conclusion of the General Assembly on November 15.

CardinalDiNardo was elected president on the first ballot with 113 votes. Archbishop Gomezwas elected vice president on the third ballot by 131-84 in a runoff voteagainst Archbishop  Gregory Aymond of NewOrleans.

The president and vice president are electedby a simple majority from a slate of 10 nominees. If no president or vicepresident is chosen after the second round of voting, a third ballot is a run-off between the two bishops whoreceived the most votes on the second ballot. 

CardinalDiNardo was born May 23, 1949,and ordained a priest of Pittsburgh on June 16, 1977. He previously served asbishop of Sioux City, Iowa, from 1998-2004 before being appointed to coadjutorbishop, then archbishop, of Galveston-Houston. Pope Benedict XVI named him acardinal in 2007, making him the first cardinal from Texas. ArchbishopGomez was born December 26, 1951, in Monterrey, Mexico. He was ordained apriest on August 15, 1978. He was appointed auxiliary bishop of Denver in 2001,and in 2004, he was appointed archbishop of San Antonio. He was appointed coadjutor archbishop of LosAngeles in 2010, and was installed as archbishop of Los Angeles in 2011.

The bishops also chose the chairmen-elect offive committees and new members of the board of Catholic Relief Services, (CRS). The bishops elected are:

Bishop Robert P. Deeley of Portland,Maine, chairman-elect of the Committee on CanonicalAffairs and Church Governance in a 111-89 voteover Bishop David M. Malloy of Rockford, Illinois.

Bishop Joseph C. Bambera ofScranton, Pennsylvania, chairman-elect of the Committee on Ecumenical andInterreligious Affairs in a 115-90 vote over BishopMichael C. Barber of Oakland, California.

Bishop Robert E. Barron, auxiliarybishop of Los Angeles, chairman-elect of the Committee on Evangelization andCatechesis in a 122-90 vote over Bishop Frank J. Caggiano of Bridgeport,Connecticut.

Archbishop Timothy P. Broglio of theU.S. Archdiocese for Military Services, chairman-elect of the Committee onInternational Justice and Peace in a 127-88 vote over Bishop Robert W. McElroyof San Diego.

Bishop Timothy L. Doherty ofLafayette, Indiana, chairman-elect of the Committee on Protection of Childrenand Young People in a 128-86 vote over Bishop Joseph J. Tyson of Yakima,Washington.

Each bishop elected will serve forone year as secretary-elect or chairman-elect before beginning a three-yearterm.

Bishops elected to the CRS boardwere: Archbishop Paul S. Coakley of Oklahoma City, Bishop Gregory Parkes ofPensacola-Tallahassee, Florida; and Archbishop Jerome Listecki of Milwaukee,Wisconsin.

In November 2015, Archbishop Gomezwas elected to chair the Committee on Migration for a term beginning this week.Since his election as USCCB vice-president prevents him from assumingleadership of the committee, the bishops will elect a new chairman at a latertime.


Keywords:USCCB, U.S. bishops, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, November meeting,Fall General Assembly, Baltimore, elections, president, vice president,chairmen, vote, CRS, Clinic, committee

# # #


Norma Montenegro Flynn


16- 152