U. S. Bishops to Vote for Conference Treasurer-Elect, Chairman and Chairmen-Elect of Five Committees at Fall General Assembly in Baltimore, Nov. 12-14

November 1, 2018 By Public Affairs Office

WASHINGTON—The U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) will be voting for the conference treasurer-elect, chairman of the catholic education committee, and chairmen-elect of five additional standing committees at the upcoming annual 2018 General Assembly taking place November 12-14 in Baltimore, Maryland. The five committee chairmen will serve for one year as chairmen-elect before beginning a three-year term at the conclusion of the bishops' 2019 Fall General Assembly.

Nominees for the Conference Treasurer, Chairman of the Committee for Catholic Education, and Chairman-elect of each committee are as follows:

Conference Treasurer-elect:

Bishop Gregory L. Parkes, Diocese of St. Petersburg

Archbishop Charles C. Thompson, Archdiocese of Indianapolis

For Chairman:

Committee on Catholic Education:

Bishop Michael C. Barber, S.J., Bishop of Oakland

Bishop David J. Malloy, Diocese of Rockford

For Chairman-elect:

Committee on Clergy, Consecrated Life, and Vocations:

Bishop James F. Checchio, Diocese of Metuchen

Bishop Michael F. Olson, Diocese of Fort Worth

Committee on Divine Worship:

Archbishop Leonard P. Blair, Archdiocese of Hartford

Bishop David L. Ricken, Diocese of Green Bay

Committee on Domestic Justice and Human Development:

Archbishop Paul S. Coakley, Archdiocese of Oklahoma City

Archbishop John C. Wester, Archdiocese of Santa Fe

Committee on Laity, Marriage, Family Life, and Youth:

Archbishop Salvatore J. Cordileone, Archdiocese of San Francisco

Bishop John F. Doerfler, Bishop of Marquette

Committee on Migration:

Bishop Mario E Dorsonville-Rodriguez, Archdiocese of Washington

Bishop John Stowe, OFM Conv., Diocese of Lexington


Keywords: USCCB, U.S. bishops, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, November meeting, Fall General Assembly, Baltimore, committees, elections, conference secretary, committee chairmen-elect


Media Contact:

Judy Keane