Conference Officers

(Names in bold type were elected)

USCCB President

The nominees in alphabetical order are:

  • Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond of New Orleans (30)
  • Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, OFM Cap., of Philadelphia(9)
  • Archbishop Paul S. Coakley of Oklahoma City (4)
  • Cardinal Daniel N. DiNardo of Galveston-Houston (113)
  • Bishop Daniel E. Flores of Brownsville (4)
  • Archbishop José H. Gomez of Los Angeles (15)
  • Archbishop William E. Lori of Baltimore (3)
  • Archbishop Allen H. Vigneron of Detroit (4)
  • Archbishop Thomas G. Wenski of Miami (4)
  • Archbishop John C. Wester of Santa Fe (20)

The president and vice president are elected to three-year terms, which begin at the conclusion of the meeting. At that time, Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz of Louisville, Kentucky and Cardinal Daniel N. DiNardo of Galveston-Houston, will complete their terms as president and vice president, respectively.  

USCCB Vice-President

  • Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond of New Orleans (84)
  • Archbishop José H. Gomez of Los Angeles (131)

USCCB by-laws provide that the first election is that of the president by simple majority vote of members present and voting. Following the election of the president, the vice-president is elected from the remaining nine candidates. In either election, if a candidate does not receive more than half of the votes cast on the first ballot, a second vote is taken. If a third round of voting is necessary, that ballot is a run-off between the two bishops who received the most votes on the second ballot. 

Committee and Board Election Results

Chairman-Elect, Committee on Canonical Affairs and Church Governance

  • Bishop Robert P. Deeley (111)
  • Bishop David M. Malloy (89)

Chairman-Elect, Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs 

  • Bishop Joseph C. Bambera (115)
  • Bishop Michael C. Barber (90)

Chairman-Elect, Committee on Evangelization and Catechesis 

  • Bishop Robert E. Barron (122)
  • Bishop Frank J. Caggiano (90)

Chairman-Elect, Committee on International Justice and Peace

  • Bishop Robert W. McElroy (88)
  • Archbishop Timothy P. Broglio (127)

Chairman-Elect, Committee on Protection of Children and Young People 

  • Bishop Timothy L. Doherty (127)
  • Bishop Joseph J. Tyson (88)

Chairman-Elect, Committee on Migration

  • Bishop Joe S Vasquez (109)
  • Archbishop John C. Wester (91)

Catholic Relief Services - Board of Directors

  • Archbishop Paul S. Coakley (121)
  • Bishop John T. Folda (74)
  • Bishop Joseph R. Kopacz (61)
  • Archbishop Jerome E. Listecki (108)
  • Bishop Gregory L. Parkes (129)