Subcommittee on African American Affairs


Most Reverend Joseph N. Perry, Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago


Most Reverend Brendan Cahill, Bishop of Victoria
Most Reverend Roy E. Campbell, Jr., Auxiliary Bishop of Washington
Most Reverend Octavio Cisneros, Auxiliary Bishop of Brooklyn
Most Reverend Jeffrey Haines, Auxiliary Bishop of Milwaukee
Most Reverend Barry Knestout, D.D., Bishop of Richmond
Most Reverend Denis Madden, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of Baltimore
Most Reverend Guy Sansaricq, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of Brooklyn


Fr. Anthony M. Bozeman, SSJ, Pastor, St. Raymond-St. Leo the Great Catholic Church
Fr. Vernon Huguley, VF, Pastor, St. Patrick Catholic Church
Ms. Valerie Jennings, Parish Vitality Coordinator, Vicariate VI-Archdiocese of Chicago
Mr. Ashley Morris, Associate Director, Office of Intercultural & Ethnic Diversity-Archdiocese of Atlanta
Fr. Richard Owens OFM Cap., Director, Office of Black Catholics-Archdiocese of Philadelphia
Fr. Stephen Thorne, Pastor, St. Martin De Porres Catholic Church

Staff Contacts

Donna Toliver Grimes
Assistant Director, African American Affairs

Leticia Rivera
Administrative Secretary, African American Affairs/Asian and Pacific Island Affairs

Contact Us

African American Affairs
Secretariat of Cultural Diversity in the Church
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
3211 4th Street NE
Washington, DC 20017
Phone: 202-541-3178
Fax: 202-541-5417

African American Catholic Bishops

From Left to Right Standing: Archbishop Wilton D. Gregory, Archbishop of Washington; Bishop John H. Ricard, SSJ, Bishop Emeritus, Diocese of Pensacola - Tallahassee; Bishop Martin D. Holley, Bishop Emeritus of Memphis; Bishop Joseph N. Perry, Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago; Bishop Edward K. Braxton, Bishop of Belleville; Bishop George Murry, SJ, Bishop of Youngstown. Seated: Bishop Guy A. Sansaricq, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of Brooklyn; Bishop J. Terry Steib, SVD, Bishop Emeritus of Memphis; Bishop Shelton J. Fabre, Bishop of Houma-Thibodaux; Bishop Curtis J. Guillory, SVD, Bishop of Beaumont.

Bishop Fernand Cheri, OFM

Bishop Fernand J. Cheri, OFM
Auxiliary Bishop of New Orleans