National Denominational and Faith Group Leaders Issue Statement Denouncing Torture, October 23, 2006

Year Published
  • 2013
  • English

October 23, 2006
National Denominational and Faith Group Leaders

Torture violates the basic dignity of the human person that all religions, in their highest ideals, hold dear. It degrades everyone involved-policy-makers, perpetrators and victims. It contradicts our nation's most cherished values. Any policies that permit torture and inhumane treatment are shocking and morally intolerable.

Nothing less is at stake in the torture abuse crisis than the soul of our nation. What does it signify if torture is condemned in word but allowed in deed? Let America abolish torture now-without exceptions.

Rabbi Alvin Berkun
President, The Rabbinical Assembly

Most Rev. Metropolitan Christopher
Serbian Orthodox Church in the USA and Canada

Archbishop Nicolae Condrea
Romanian Orthodox Archdiocese in America and Canada

Archbishop Demetrios
Primate, Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America

Rabbi Daniel Ehrenkrantz
President, Reconstructionist Rabbinical College

Rabbi Jerome M. Epstein
Executive Vice President, United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism

The Most Reverend Frank T. Griswold
Presiding Bishop, The Episcopal Church

The Reverend Mark S. Hanson
Presiding Bishop, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Rev. Dr. Stan Hastey
Executive Director, Alliance of Baptists

Bishop Janice Riggle Huie
President, Council of Bishops, The United Methodist Church

Rev. Clifton Kirkpatrick
Stated Clerk of the General Assembly, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

Rev. Michael Livingston
Executive Director, International Council of Community Churches

Rev. A. Roy Medley
General Secretary, American Baptist Churches USA

Metropolitan Philip
Primate, The Antiochian Orthodox Christian Archdiocese of North America

Rabbi Brant Rosen
President, Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association

Dr. Manmohan Singh
Secretary General, World Sikh Council - American Region

Rev. William G. Sinkford
President, Unitarian Universalist Association of Congregations

Reverend William J. Shaw
President, National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc.

Dr. Sayyid M. Syeed
Secretary General, Islamic Society of North America

Rev. John H. Thomas
President, United Church of Christ

Rev. Dr. Sharon E. Watkins
General Minister and President, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

Rev. David L. Wickmann
President, Provincial Elders Conference, Moravian Church, Northern and Southern Provinces

Rabbi Eric Yoffie
President, Union for Reform Judaism

See more resources by category: