FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  
 

Who We Are

 

CCHD: Working on the Margins

Mission & Identity

Pope Francis smiles as he arrives to lead his general audience in St. Peter's Square at the Vatican June 26. (CNS photo/Paul Haring)

The Catholic Campaign for Human Development is the domestic anti-poverty program of the U.S. Catholic Bishops, working to carry out the mission of Jesus Christ "... to bring good news to the poor ...  release to captives ...  sight to the blind, and let the oppressed go free." (Luke 4:18)

The belief that those who are directly affected by unjust systems and structures have the best insight into knowing how to change them is central to CCHD. CCHD works to break the cycle of poverty by helping low-income people participate in decisions that affect their lives, families and communities. CCHD offers a hand up, not a hand out.

CCHD has a complementary mission of educating on poverty and its causes. This strategy of education for justice and helping people who are poor speak and act for themselves reflects the mandate of the Scriptures and the principles of Catholic social teaching.

CCHD provides the Catholic faithful with concrete opportunities to live out the love of God and neighbor in ways that express our baptismal call and continuing Eucharistic transformation. CCHD is made possible by the generous support of Catholics in the United States, especially through an annual parish collection.

CCHD is an essential part of the Church in the United States' social mission, and a unique part of the Catholic community's broad commitment to assist low-income people, families and communities.  

National Office Staff

Main Number . . . . . . . . . .  202-541-3210
Fax Number   . . . . . . . . . .  202-541-3329
Main Email     . . . . . . . . . . 
cchdgrants@usccb.org

  Administrative  
 


Ralph McCloud


Director


202-541-3367


rmccloud@usccb.org

 
  Lydia Jiles Grants Administrator 202-541-3210  ljiles@usccb.org  
  Grant Specialists  
 

Area A

Ian Mitchell 202-541-3371 imitchell@usccb.org  
  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont  
   
 

Area B

Gene Giannotta 202-541-3211 ggiannotta@usccb.org  
  Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin  
           
 

Area C

Randy Keesler 202-541-3369  rkeesler@usccb.org  
  Alabama, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee , Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia  
           
 

Area D

Juan Aranda 202-541-3370   jaranda@usccb.org  
  Arizona, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas  
           
 

Area E

Sean Wendlinder 202-541-3212 swendlinder@usccb.org  
  Alaska, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
 
 
  Education and Outreach  
           
  Alexandra Carroll Communications Manager for Social Mission 202-541-3364 acarroll@usccb.org  
 


Marthamaria Morales


Poverty Education & Outreach Manager


202-541-3372


mmorales@usccb.org

 
 

Emily Schumacher-Novak

Assistant Director for Education & Outreach
 

202-541-3297

enovak@usccb.org

 

 
CCHD National Collections  
For collection-related questions, contact Nicole Germain in the Office of National Collections: 202-541-3365.
 
 
  CCHD Diocesan Contacts
  For more information regarding the Catholic Campaign for Human Development, please contact your local CCHD Diocesan Coordinator.   

 

 

 



By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue