The Subcommittee on Aid to the Church in Central and Eastern Europe is composed of eight bishops. Each year, the subcommittee reviews and evaluates grant applications and makes funding decisions with the assistance of its staff.

Subcommittee Members


  • Bishop Jeffrey M. Monforton, Diocese of Steubenville


  • Cardinal Blase J. Cupich, Archdiocese of Chicago
  • Metropolitan-Archbishop Borys Gudziak, Ukrainian Archeparchy of Philadelphia
  • Bishop Robert Fisher, Auxiliary Bishop of Archdiocese of Detroit
  • Bishop Edward C. Malesic, Diocese of Cleveland
  • Bishop Witold Mrozieweski, Auxiliary Bishop of Diocese of Brooklyn
  • Bishop Richard F. Stika, Diocese of Knoxville
  • Bishop Gerald L. Vincke, Diocese of Salina
  • Bishop Patrick J. Zurek, Diocese of Amarillo


  • Bishop John M. Botean, Romanian Greek Catholic Eparchy of St. George in Canton
  • Bishop Donald J. Hying, Diocese of MadisonBishop Patrick J. Zurek, Diocese of Amarillo
  • Mr. Patrick Markey, Managing Partner, Leadership Roundtable