The Subcommittee on the Church in Africa is composed of eight bishops. Each year the subcommittee, with the assistance of its staff, reviews and evaluates grant applications and makes funding decisions.

Subcommittee Members


  • Cardinal Joseph W. Tobin, CSsR, Archdiocese of Newark


  • Archbishop John C. Wester, Archdiocese of Santa Fe
  • Bishop Robert McElroy, Diocese of San Diego
  • Bishop Michael Mulvey, Diocese of Corpus Christi
  • Bishop Joseph Perry, Auxiliary, Archdiocese of Chicago
  • Bishop Edward Scharfenberger, Diocese of Albany
  • Bishop Peter L. Smith, Auxiliary, Archdiocese of Portland
  • Bishop Thomas R. Zinkula, Diocese of Davenport


  • Cardinal Seán P. O'Malley, OFM Cap, Archdiocese of Boston
  • Bishop Frank J. Caggiano, Diocese of Bridgeport
  • Bishop Gerald Kicanas, Bishop emeritus, Diocese of Tucson
  • Bishop John H. Ricard, SSJ, Bishop emeritus, Diocese of Pensacola-Tallahassee
  • Rev. Andrew Small, OMI
  • Mr. Patrick Markey
  • Mr. Donald Rogers
  • Mr. Fritz Zuger