Committee on International Justice & Peace

The committee assists the bishops, both collectively and individually, in advancing the social mission of the Church on international justice and peace through policy development, advocacy, education, outreach, and acts of ecclesial solidarity. The committee advises the bishops on international public policy issues, especially integral human development, human rights, religious freedom, and peace.

This mandate includes the following areas of responsibility: International policy, advocacy, justice and peace concerns, solidarity with the Church in other countries, outreach to dioceses on international issues, and international dimensions of Catholic social teaching education.

Committee Members

Most Reverend David J. Malloy, Chairman
Bishop of Rockford

Most Reverend Joseph C. Bambera
Bishop of Scranton

Most Reverend Timothy P. Broglio
Archbishop for the Military Services, USA

Most Reverend Frank J. Dewane
Bishop of Venice

Most Reverend Michael Mulvey
Bishop of Corpus Christi

Most Reverend William F. Murphy
Bishop Emeritus of Rockville Centre

Most Reverend Alberto Rojas
Bishop of San Bernardino

Most Reverend Abdallah Elias Zaidan
Bishop of the Maronite Eparchy of Our Lady of Lebanon

Bishop Consultant

Most Reverend Nelson J. Peréz
Archbishop of Philadelphia

Most Reverend Borys Gudziak
Archbishop of Ukrainian Archeparchy of Philadelphia

Lay Consultants

Dr. Thomas F. Farr
Director of the Religious Freedom Project, Berkley Center for Religion, Peace and World Affairs, Georgetown University

Ambassador Mary Ann Glendon
Professor of Law, Harvard Law School, Harvard University

Dr. Maryann Cusimano Love
Professor, Department of Politics, The Catholic University of America

Organizational Consultants

Mr. Sean Callahan
President, Catholic Relief Services 

Reverend Msgr. Peter I. Vaccari
President, Catholic Near East Welfare Association


Lucas Koach, Director, Office of International Justice and Peace

Christopher Ljungquist, International Policy Advisor

Virginia Farris, International Policy Advisor

Stephen Hilbert, International Policy Advisor

Elizabeth Dietz, Staff Assistant