Who We Are


The Committee for Religious Liberty of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops seeks to strengthen and sustain religious freedom by assisting the U.S. bishops, individually and collectively, to teach about religious freedom to the faithful and the broader public, and to promote and defend religious freedom in law and policy.

To this end we:

  • Collaborate with other USCCB committees on religious liberty issues
  • Develop educational materials
  • Sponsor the annual Religious Freedom Week (June 22 - 29)
  • Provide materials for the Solemnity of Christ the King
  • Circulate fact sheets and other information on critical issues
  • Publish First Freedom newsletter
  • Provide dioceses with religious liberty liturgical resources
  • Coordinate/advise on public policy efforts concerning these issues

Committee Members

Cardinal Timothy Dolan, Chairman
Archbishop of New York

Most Reverend Paul S. Coakley
Archbishop of Oklahoma City

Most Reverend William E. Lori
Archbishop of Baltimore

Most Reverend David A. Konderla
Bishop of Tulsa

Most Reverend David J. Malloy
Bishop of Rockford

Most Reverend Andrew H. Cozzens
Bishop of Crookston

Most Reverend Daniel E. Flores
Bishop of Brownsville

Most Reverend Mario E. Dorsonville
Auxiliary Bishop of Washington

Most Reverend Robert P. Reed
Auxiliary Bishop of Boston


Most Reverend Thomas Wenski
Archbishop of Miami

Most Reverend Jerome E. Listecki
Archbishop of Milwaukee

Most Reverend Thomas Daly
Bishop of Spokane

Most Reverend David P. Talley
Bishop of Memphis

Most Reverend Robert Barron
Bishop of Winona-Rochester

Most Reverend Arturo Cepeda
Auxiliary Bishop of Detroit

Jason Adkins, Esq.
Executive Director, Minnesota Catholic Conference

Montse Alvarado
Executive Director, The Becket Fund for Religious Liberty

Carl A. Anderson
Past Supreme Knight, Knights of Columbus

Kevin Baine, Esq.
Senior Counsel, Williams & Connolly LLP

Kim Daniels
Member, Vatican Dicastery for Communication

Ambassador Mary Ann Glendon
Learned Hand Professor of Law, Emeritus, Harvard University

Patrick Kelly
Supreme Knight, Knights of Columbus

Rev. Dominic Legge, O.P.
Director, Thomistic Institute

L. Martin Nussbaum, Esq.
Partner, Nussbaum Speir Gleason

Gloria Purvis
Host, The Gloria Purvis Podcast

Jason Shanks
President, Our Sunday Visitor Institute

Elise Ureneck
Founder and Principal, Credendi Communications


Anthony Picarello, Esq.
General Counsel & Associate General Secretary

Richard Coll
Executive Director, Department of Justice, Peace, and Human Development

Dan Balserak
Religious Liberty Director & Assistant General Counsel

Lauren McCormack
Executive Director, Office of Government Relations

Aaron M. Weldon, Ph.D.
Religious Liberty Program Specialist

Kyle Burkhart
Executive Assistant, Office of the General Counsel