Who We Are

The Committee on Divine Worship, a standing committee of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, has the responsibility for all matters relating to the Sacred Liturgy for Latin Rite Dioceses in the United States.

Committee on Divine Worship

Most Rev. Steven J. Lopes
Bishop of the Chair of Saint Peter
Committee Chairman

Most Rev. Paul S. Coakley
Archbishop of Oklahoma City

Most Rev. Samuel J. Aquila
Archbishop of Denver

Most Rev. Christopher J. Coyne
Archbishop of Hartford

Most Rev. Mark J. Seitz
Bishop of El Paso

Most Rev. John T. Folda
Bishop of Fargo

Most Rev. Douglas J. Lucia
Bishop of Syracuse

Most Rev. Mario A. Avilés, CO
Auxiliary Bishop of Brownsville
Subcommittee on Divine Worship in Spanish Chairman

Most Rev. Michael G. Woost
Auxiliary Bishop of Cleveland


Most Rev. Leonard P. Blair
Archbishop Emeritus of Hartford

Right Rev. Gregory J. Polan, OSB
Abbot Primate of the Benedictine Confederation

Right Rev. Jeremy Driscoll, OSB
Abbot of Mount Angel Abbey

Rev. Ryan T. Ruiz
Dean of Theology, Mount St. Mary's Seminary & School of Theology (Cincinnati, OH)

Christopher J. Carstens
Director of Sacred Worship, Diocese of La Crosse

Jennifer Donelson-Nowicka
Director of Sacred Music, St. Patrick's Seminary (Menlo Park, CA)

Maria Perez-Rudisill
Treasurer, Instituto Nacional Hispano de Liturgia

James M. Starke
Chairman, Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions

Rita A. Thiron
Executive Director, Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions

Secretariat of Divine Worship

Rev. Dustin P. Dought
Executive Director

Rev. David R. Price
Associate Director

Matthew M. Godbey
Administrative Assistant

David K. Ringwald
Administrative Assistant